Management and Administration of Education

The civil service structure in Uganda has been transformed from being a highly centralized traditional civil service model, into a decentralized structure with most of the authority and resources now being devolved to the districts.   This provides for a more accountable and responsive provision of basic services to the population, including education.

The management and provision of basic education is now largely in the hands of the district administration, while the centre remains responsible for policy control and maintenance of standards through control of teacher education, curriculum and examinations.  This enhances flexibility, transparency & accountability.  It can also allow local administrators to be creative in seeking solutions to problems that are unique to their localities.

The overall responsibility for development in the education sector lies with the Ministry of Education and Sports (MoES), under the leadership of a full Minister of Education assisted by 3 Ministers of State responsible for Primary Education, Higher Education and Sports respectively. 

The MoES has seven technical departments headed by Commissioners.  All Commissioners, except that of Education Planning, are supervised by and answerable to the Director of Education.  The departments are:

  1. Pre-primary and Primary Education
  2. Secondary Education
  3. Technical, Vocational and Business Education
  4. Higher Education
  5. Special Education and Career Guidance
  6. Teacher Education
  7. Education Planning

In addition, there are support sections operating under the leadership of the Under Secretary Finance and Administration who reports directly to the Permanent Secretary.  The sections include Accounts, Personnel and Administration.  There are also semi- or fully autonomous institutions under the Ministry.  These are the National Curriculum Development Centre (NCDC), the Uganda National Examinations Board (UNEB), the Education Standards Agency (ESA), Makerere University, the Education Service Commission (ESC), Mbarara University of Science and Technology (MUST), Gulu University, Kyambogo University and the National Health Service Training Colleges.

The Director of Education, the Under Secretary and the Commissioner of Education Planning, report to the Permanent Secretary who is the accounting officer and overall supervisor of the education sector.

See the SACMEQ report for more information.